I want a sewing machine

17 Apr

So, I learned how to knit.  That was great.  I’m not that great at it, but I enjoy it.  Here’s the thing about knitting – it takes me forever to finish anything.  I’m an instant gratification kind of person so this is somewhat frustrating.  If I can’t whip up a scarf in the time it takes me to drive to Target and buy one then chances are pretty good that I’m going to abandon the project.  Now sewing is something I think I would like.  There’s a machine involved so it’s quicker then my fingers moving about.  I could whip up curtains in no time.  I could hem something with the touch of a pedal.  Mainly though, I want to make these things.

There’s something about making your own curtains, shower curtain, tablecloth.  “I love your [curtains, shower curtain, tablecloth, etc.]!!  Where’d you get!  Maybe I can get one, too!”  “Oh, I whipped that up with some fabric I had around the house.” “Oh.” “Yep, one of a kind.  Sorry.”

So, yeah, sewing machine.  If anyone wants to help me towards this purchase I am open to accepting Amazon.com gift certificates.

*I don’t know what the patchwork theme is about.  I think it comes from the fact that I want to sew a quilt (which is a whole different thing to talk about at a later date).  Why I am becoming all down home, let’s hand-make stuff! is beyond me.  I’m just going with it.  When I start wanting to make my own soap, someone please organize an intervention.

4 Responses to “I want a sewing machine”

  1. Trisha April 17, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    I love making my own things, I too want a sewing machine and have it on my birthday list, as of now I do everything the hard way. In fact, I’ve made cabinet curtains for my entertainment center, curtains for my little girls room, and lots of decorations. I’m big on the home made items, so let me know if your in need and I’ll whip up something lol. I do however one day wish to make a quilt out of my children’s baby clothes…

    • irandless April 19, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

      Ooh, a quilt out of your kids’ baby clothes is a good idea! I’ll have to keep that in mind should I ever have any. Yeah, I’ve whipped up a few curtains and done some stuff by hand, but it’s soooo tedious. I long for the day when a machine will do all my work for me.

  2. Lara April 18, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Ohhhh sewing machines are so much fun! All you need is something sturdy and basic… Singer and Brother are good all-purpose brands. Make sure you have a free arm feature so you can hem things like pants legs. So exciting! If you have any questions… shoot me a line on twitter or something. I have a Brother and a serger as well.

    • irandless April 19, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      That’s great! I’ve been looking at this machine – http://tiny.cc/ucvo4. Seems like a good starter. I will definitely hit you up once I start hitting the peddle.

Leave a Reply

