Ch-Ch-Changes

17 May

Change is afoot and coming to a Nicole near you!  There’s so much going on that I haven’t talked about on this here blog.  Some times silence is a good idea.  I’m going to get it all out there now, though.

First, we’ll start with all the new things I have recently purchased.

1) I bought a new (to me) car.  It’s a 2008 Subaru Legacy.  I bought it from the very nice folks over at Mooers Volvo on Midlo Turnpike.  Big thanks to Tom!  It was the easiest car buying experience ever.

2) I got a new cell phone.  But not just any cell phone, a smartphone.  Ooh.  I’m all fancy and connected to the internets now.  After much research (i.e. me picking up display phones and punching buttons) I decided on the Blackberry Storm 2.  So far, I am pretty happy with it, if not a little addicted to it.

3) I was pursuing the List of Craig one afternoon and came across a killer deal (no pun intended) on a Brother Limited Edition Project Runway sewing machine.  I have yet to take it out of the box and play with it because I’m a little busy at the moment, but I assure you that the first free block of time I have will be spent fiddling with it.

Now for the big stuff.

A) Dan and I are moving to Southwest Virginia.  He got accepted to VA Tech and asked me if I would consider moving with him.  I considered it and said yes so to SWVA we are moving!

B) We found a wonderful townhouse in Christiansburg that is exactly what we wanted.  Two floors, two bedrooms, one and a half bathrooms, a fireplace, a good-sized deck in the backyard, a large coat closet, lots of closets (I currently have one closet in my one bedroom apartment, I cannot wait to have proper closets), hardwood floors downstairs, carpet upstairs, a nook area for my desk/craft area, a washer and dryer, a huge kitchen with lots of cabinets, and a parking space for each of us.  Seriously, we could not ask for anything else.  It’s near the bus station and I-81 for me and near VA Tech for Dan.

C) I have a job!  I’m not going to talk about this item more than to say I will be working as a paralegal again and I am so excited about this opportunity!!  The job is in Roanoke, which is about 40 minutes from the townhouse.  Lots of think time in the morning and evenings.  There is a SmartBus that runs from Christiansburg to Roanoke.  I’ll drive the days we have court, but otherwise I’ll take the SmartBus.

D) I’m going to continue to go to school.  Roanoke’s community college has a really good paralegal associates program so I’m pretty excited about starting that, too.  I won’t start taking classes again until the spring semester, though.  There’s a townhouse to get up and running, there’s a job to work and become comfortable with, and there’s a whole new area of Virginia to learn.  Too much going on the first five months to throw school into the mix.

I think that about covers it… I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but I couldn’t tell you what.

4 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Changes”

  1. Homeslice May 17, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    sad for me but never (truly) been happier for two more deserving people than you and dan. i’m going to miss the ever-livin’ shit out of both of you.

  2. Trisha May 17, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    Wow, I am so happy for you both. Wish I could find that perfect place to live. That means a whole lot of decorating and hopefully blogs and pics on how thats going. Congrats on everything, next you’ll be telling us your getting married LOL. (I’d love to be invited to that, since you said you weren’t the marrying type)

  3. dkbisme June 23, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    Hi Nicole, it’s Dan’s friend Danielle. I am so excited that you guys are moving closer to me. I’m looking forward to getting to know you 🙂 It makes me giggle to see all the girlieness going into Dan’s life, it’s good for him! I think you’ll like that part of VA, Blacksburg and Cburg are great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fluffy McFlufferson « Irregardless. - May 27, 2010

    […] decided not to worry about the pillow thing until we made our big move to SWVA.  In comes Target.  I was there for something non-pillow related when I came across pillow […]

Leave a Reply

