Fluffy McFlufferson

27 May

The couch of Dan is coming to Southwest Virginia with us.  Dan bought it on Craigslist.  It’s a warrior of a couch.  It’s sturdy, it has a full-sized bed in it, but it still had the original pillows on it.

Until now.

I’m a firm believer that couch pillows should be replaced if  1) they are flat and lost their pillowy-ness; 2) no longer the color/style/look you are going for; or 3) you find something you like better.  Dan liked the pillows.  I was glad of their existence, but not really a fan of their flatness and dark colors combo.  They’ve done their time.  Couch pillows can only take so much before you just got let them go to the couch over the bridge.

I had broached the subject of replacing the pillows with Dan.  He was kind of ok with it, but was hesitant.  He liked the colors and thought they were fine.  My argument was that you had to layer two or three of them to get any sort of actual pillow feeling.

I decided not to worry about the pillow thing until we made our big move to SWVA.  In comes Target.  I was there for something non-pillow related when I came across pillow covers on an end cap.  Fabulous pillow covers that were on sale for $3.48.  !!!!!  Normally pillows run about 15 bucks each.  If you’re lucky.  I had thought about whipping up pillow covers with my new sewing machine, but didn’t know when that would actually happen.  So I was really happy when I saw these wonderfully priced pillow covers.  They had a few different colors to choose from.  I immediately snapped pictures of the two that I thought would look good on the couch and sent them to Dan.  He was skeptical, but I think he’s learned/learning to just go with my crazy ideas because they usually turn out ok.  And I reassured him that if they didn’t look good on the couch then I would just return them to the store.  He said to go for it.  And go for it I did.

I snapped up three orange and white polka dot covers and two orange, white, red and tan striped covers.  (In my dreams, we recover the couch in a tan, sand color fabric.  I can see it in my mind.  It’s perfect… in my dreams.)

While I was at my apartment packing up later that night, I had the brilliant idea of using my bed pillows (that I would no longer need because there are plenty of bed pillows at Dan’s) to stuff the covers.  Brilliant!  Sometimes it just all comes together.

{here they are, the original pillows}

{the new covers, fresh off the clearance rack}

{using stuffing from its original home in my bed pillows}

{putting the stuffing in its new home}

{the new pillows}

The new pillows cost all of $17.40.  SEVENTEEN DOLLARS AND FORTY CENTS (plus tax).  I saved at least 55 bucks on this little revamp project.

2 Responses to “Fluffy McFlufferson”

  1. Homeslice May 27, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    if you find yourself bored in the legal arena, please do us all a favor and consider a career in interior design. i love it! and i love the price! can’t wait to see what you do to my powder blue bathroom hell!

    • irandless May 28, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      I’d consider that. Or becoming a professional organizer, or a kindergarten teacher, or a professional list maker.

Leave a Reply

