Curtains are sew easy to make!

7 Jun

See what I did there with the title?  Clever.  I know. 

My friend Cristina moved into a new house.  The master bathroom in the new place was straight out of the 70s.  Baby blue tile.  Baby blue sink.  Baby blue toilet (with a lovely white seat and top).  The room was in need of some assistance.  I was called in to help.  Originally, we were going to make a skirt for the sink and put one of these dohobs on the toilet seat.  Cristina decided that the cost of replacing the offending toilet and sink with newer (non-bluer) options would be cheaper than the cost of her sanity.   That left the shower entrance and the window to deal with. 

There was a glass shower door (which I did not think to take a picture of, imagine it).  It was awkward and didn’t let in a lot of light.  It also didn’t open all the way as it hit the toilet.  The door was taken down and Cristina put up a fun, bright shower curtain was put up in its place. 

Then it was window curtain time.  We had a little shopping trip to U-Fab, Joanne’s, and Wal-Mart.  Picked up a yard of the brightest, funnest fabric U-Fab had to offer.  Then we popped over to Joanne’s (after stopping to get manicures and pedicures) to pick up the pom-poms.  We stopped at Big Lots for the curtain rod, but they did not have what we needed so over to Wal-Mart we went. 

The curtains were simple to make.  The Nicole way of making curtains requires no tape measure (well, except to make sure you get the right length curtain rod) and definitely no math.  I held the fabric up to the window and eye-balled where cuts needed to be made.  I left a little more fabric on each end than needed so as to allow for the seams.  I then cut it right down the center.  I ironed and pinned the seams and Cristina sewed them. 

When it came time to add the pom-poms we ran into an unexpected problem.  The strip above the pom-poms was too thick to feed through the machine.  Out came a needle and thread.  I sewed the pom-poms on and we carried on with our project.   We left the top for last.  Here’s why.  I wasn’t the one putting the curtain rod up so I didn’t know exactly where it was going to be and I wanted to make sure the pom-poms hit the ledge of the window.  After the rod was installed and the pom-poms were on I folded over the top until the pom-poms hit where I wanted them to.  I took my folded fabric to the sewing room, pinned it, ironed it, and cut off the excess.  Cristina sewed the top with a fun little sphere looking stitch her fancy sewing machine offered.  

All that was left to do was to clip the curtains up and admire our handy work. 

The (Very Blue) Before

The (Adorable) After

Next up, we tackle kitchen curtains.  Stay tuned!

5 Responses to “Curtains are sew easy to make!”

  1. Homeslice June 7, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    i am seriously geeked. whenever i’ve gotten cranky today, i’ve wandered into my bathroom and stared lovingly at the curtains. there may have been some stroking as well. i am so grateful you shared your genius with me!!!

  2. Lara June 8, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Seriously cute! You guys did a really nice job! I love that decorative stitch!

    • irandless June 8, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      aw, thanks for noticing that detail! i love the decorative stitch! way cuter than just a straight line.

  3. rockle June 9, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Oooh, so cute! I secretly love the baby blue — but then, the bathroom in my crapshack has WALLPAPER ON THE CEILING, who does that? (Of course we haven’t changed it yet, it’s easier to complain.)

    I am seriously in love with that shower curtain. It’s so happy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Curtains in the Kitchen « Irregardless. - June 15, 2010

    […] Jun Cristina and I finished the curtains for her bathroom which meant it was time to make curtains for her kitchen.  I love the way they turned […]

Leave a Reply

