A Grateful Plateful

4 Aug

Years ago, I purchased a platter from the Hallmark store.  It was on clearance and had cherries on it and I couldn’t resist.  (If you knew me years ago, you know that cherries were my thing.  They still are kind of, I just have too much cherry stuff so I tend not to purchase any more.) 

The platter is round and white and has a pretty kind of lime/sage green mix line circling it and it says “A Grateful Plateful.”  This morning, I was thinking that “ugh, I really don’t want to be at work, I want to be home doing stuff and unpacking!!”  I then stomped my feet and held my breath like I was 5 years old.  Not so much that last part, but you get my point. 

I am busy, busy at work which I am loving because 1) I am all about making a list of things to be done, and 2) knocking out said list.  And I am busy, busy at home… or at least I will be when I’m not there to just shower and sleep. 

Dan is holding down the fort and handling stuff that needs handling.   I’m at work, working.  I feel like a bad partner.  Also, in some ways, I am jealous of his time at home.  Not in a “I wish I didn’t have to work” way, just in a “is it the weekend yet so I can spend some uninterrupted time unpacking and sorting stuff out?!” 

So where does the cherry platter come into this?  Here:  I was thinking all these things and then “A Grateful Plateful” popped into my head.  That’s exactly it.  I am grateful I have so much to do at work and I enjoy doing it and I am grateful that I have a home that needs unpacking and sorting.  A grateful plateful.  So, no more tantrums, just gratefulness that I have things to do at home and work.  Also, grateful that I have someone to help with the home stuff.  Bonus!!  A grateful plateful. 

That platter is in one of those boxes to be unpacked.  Once I find it, I’m finding a home for it in our home. 

{This probably doesn’t make sense to anyone else, I know.  Welcome to Nicole Land!}

3 Responses to “A Grateful Plateful”

  1. WxDan August 4, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Nicole Land seems a lot like Camelot sometimes. Not that it’s only a model (which its not), but that it’s quite the silly place.

  2. Lara August 5, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    It’s funny how the things that overwhelm you end up making you feel lost when they’re gone.

    Totally stupid example: a few days ago the bf’s Xbox took a dump. He was WILD with ADHD craziness for days. It was driving me insane. Well, the next day, he borrowed one from a friend and I was bored out of my mind that night, missing all the fun. 🙂

  3. knitsbyliz August 6, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    It makes total sense! So happy for you (in a wish-you-weren’t-so-far-away way)!!

Leave a Reply

